Places of interest in Mysore - Tourist Places in Mysore
Mysore(Mysooru) City Palace and Museum
The palace at the heart of the city forms the focal point around which the city functions. Located at Mirza Road, the Palace is open daily from 10:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. Entry fee - Rs.10. Shoes cannot be worn inside the palace. Camera not allowed. The palace is illuminated on Sundays, national holidays from 7:00 p.m. to 8 p.m. and during Dassera festival from 7:00 p.m. to 9 p.m.
One of the largest palaces in India and the residence of the Wodeyar Maharaja's of the Mysore(Mysooru) state, it was designed by British architect Henry Irwin and built in 1912, after a fire burnt down the old wooden palace. The stained glass roof of the 'Kalyana Mandapa' (marriage pavilion), wall paintings, ivory inlaid rosewood doors and the ornate golden throne here, are all remarkable.
The palace now under the supervision of Department of Archaeology and Museums of the Karnataka Government is converted into a museum. The royal costumes, children's toys, musical instruments, photographs and numerous portraits are placed at the ground floor. A small collection of weapons are displayed on the upper floor.
The 1150meter Chamundi Hill is one of the landmark tourist attraction of Mysore(Mysooru). It is located about 13kms South east of Mysore(Mysooru).
The Chamundeswari temple on the top of the hill, dating back to the twelfth century, is dedicated to Durga Devi or goddess Chamundi (avatar of Parvathi, Shiva's consort) for celebrating her victory over the demon Mahishasura. The idol of goddess Chamundi inside the sanctorum sanctuary is in solid gold. The temple is a fine example of Dravidian temple architecture. The temple tower is 40m high with seven stories. Behind the main temple there is a small shrine dedicated to Mahabaleswara which is over a thousand years old. From the top of hill you can have a panoramic view of Mysore(Mysooru). There is a giant statue of Mahishasura, the demon who was killed by the goddess Chamundi (Durga Devi) near the temple. Halfway up the hill a ornamented monolithic statue of the Nandi Bull can be found. It is carved out of a single block of black granite.
Saint Philomena's Church
Built in 1933 and designed by Reverand Rene Feuge, St. Philomena's church is one among the grandest churches in India. Located about 3 kms from the city on Cathedral road, it is the tallest Church in India built in the neo-Gothic style. A statue of 3rd century saint, Philomena is placed in an underground chamber. The twin spires are 175 feet in height and are visible from miles around. Some fine attractive glass paintings depicting scenes from the birth of Christ, the Last Supper, the Crucifixion, the Resurrection and the Ascension of Christ can also be seen here. Presently it is known as St. Joseph's Church. Open from 8 am to 6 pm.
Jaganmohan Palace, built in 1861 by Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar, is one of the oldest building in Mysore(Mysooru). This three storied palace with stained glass shutters and ventilators is located about 10 minutes walk from the city bus stand. It is now converted into Jayachamarajendra Art Gallery, a treasure house of paintings of unparalleled beauty, handicrafts, a rare collection of musical instruments and historical memorabilia dating back to the nineteenth century and earlier.
Lalitha Mahal Palace
The heritage building, is located about 11 kms from the city of Mysore(Mysooru). This twin storied palace was commissioned in 1921 by Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV and was designed by E.W Fritchley in the Renaissance style with concepts from the Italina palazzo and the English manor. Nestling at the foot of the Chamundi Hills, the pleasing white structure was modeled in the lines of St. Paul's Cathedral in London. In 1974, India Tourist Development Corporation converted this royal guest palace into a star hotel. However, the building continues to retain various aspects of the Palace including the viceroy room, the banquet hall, the ballroom and the stately Italian marble staircases. The Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel offers royal living and dining in the environs of a real palace.
Krishnaraja Sagar Dam or KRS Dam
KRS dam, built in 1932, is located 12 kms north-west of Mysore(Mysooru). The project was designed by the farsighted engineer Sir M. Vishweswaraiah and constructed during the rule of Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV. The dam is around 8600 feet long and 130 feet high with a reservoir spread over an area of 130 sq.kms. It represents a marvel of civil engineering achievement in pre-independence India and was among the first in the world to use automatic sluice gates. There is a boating pond to cross the dam from the south bank to the north bank and at the northern edge are the dancing fountains. The beautiful terraced Brindavan Gardens is located just below the KRS dam.